Brandenburg University of Technology in Cottbus-Senftenberg and Deakin University have been internationally recognised as two leading institutions in the field of heritage education and among the first ones to integrate World Heritage aspects into graduate curricula. Following more than ten years of fruitful academic collaboration and in view of their common educational goals, the two universities have developed a Dual Degree Programme together.

The aim is to form heritage and museum management specialists with cross-sectorial knowledge, who will be able to identify, assess, protect, manage and promote cultural and natural heritage sites, as well as objects, collections and archives. Whereas generalist knowledge in a wide range of academic disciplines will be conveyed, particular emphasis will be laid on UNESCO’s most relevant policies, programmes and guidelines regarding the protection and management of heritage.

The Dual Award Programme

  • integrates two cutting edge Master’s programmes: World Heritage Studies at BTU and Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies at DU, both recognized as sector leaders, combining the academic strengths of each institution (BTU: focus on the UNESCO World Heritage Convention, heritage site management, integration of cultural and natural heritage, architectural conservation; DU: focus on the Asia-Pacific region, heritage interpretation and museum studies, intangible heritage, community participation) into a complementary curricular structure and leading to an enhanced level of excellence in studies;
  • broadens professional perspectives by facilitating field work in different environments (through practical study projects organised in Germany and Australia);
  • offers students an international experience and exposure to both German and Australian learning values;
  • conveys cross-cultural communication skills.

Upon completion of the Dual Degree programme students receive two degrees: a  Master of Arts in World Heritage Studies from BTU, as well as a Master of Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies from Deakin University.

Graduates will work as practitioners at heritage sites, in heritage institutions, UNESCO National Commissions, government agencies, NGOs, museums, community organisations, private corporations, private practice, etc. Their work may be in fields such as heritage management, urban and regional planning, museums, architecture, archaeology, education, etc.


Through a belief that heritage can and should be understood and protected from a wide range of perspectives, the curriculum combines various academic disciplines in four main study areas:

  • Humanities and Social Sciences;
  • Art, Architecture and Conservation;
  • Natural Heritage and Cultural Landscapes;
  • Management.

In addition to theoretical courses, students are required to complete two practical study projects and write a Master’s thesis.

Mobility Scheme



Cottbus is located in the State of Brandenburg, halfway between the vibrant cities of Berlin and Dresden. The town is surrounded by many green areas, including the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve Spreewald, with its idyllic waterways and forests, or the Branitz landscape gardens created by the eccentric Prince von Pückler-Muskau in the mid-19th century. The charming old market place, or the old industrial sites surrounding the landscape are reminders of the town’s versatile heritage story.

Today Cottbus offers a broad spectrum of cultural and social activities, including one of the most important Film Festivals of East European Cinema, ballet and opera performances in the elegant Jugendstil building of the State Theatre, or the Garden Festival taking place in spring. Comedy festivals, youth concerts, pubs, clubs, and cafés enrich and complement a busy student life.


Melbourne has been ranked as one of the world’s most liveable cities. No wonder that everybody finds something special to love and admire about it, from spectacular galleries and museums, to spacious green parks and gardens, to delicious cuisine of numerous restaurants and cafés. The blend of modern architectural ensembles and unique heritage buildings reflects the ever-changing exuberant spirit of the city.  Among the historical treasures of the city are the Royal Exhibition Building and its surrounding Carlton Gardens, inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2004, or the magnificent building of the Melbourne Town Hall – a lively hub of cultural and civic events and activities.


The program is fee neutral – students only pay tuition fees to their home institution.

At BTU, no tuition fees are charged for the completion of the Dual Master’s programme. BTU students must only pay the regular student services fees at BTU (approximately 280 Euro/semester) and Deakin during their residence at the respective institution. The BTU student services fees includes free public transportation in the states of Brandenburg and Berlin.

Students based at Deakin University continue to pay regular tuition fees at Deakin, and the student services fee at BTU.

BTU students selected for the programme are provided with full scholarships by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), consisting of a monthly bursary to cover living costs and a one-time travel bursary.